29 NY Junior Dairy Leaders From 17 Counties to Graduate


Twenty-nine Junior DAIRY LEADERs from New York state will graduate Wednesday, August 7, at 1:30 p.m. in the Dairy Profit Seminar Center at Empire Farm Days in Seneca Falls, N.Y.

The Cornell PRO-DAIRY program is for youth ages 16 to 19 with an interest in learning about career opportunities in the dairy industry and gaining hands-on experience in the field.

Junior DAIRY LEADER Program Coordinator Deborah Grusenmeyer says, "The graduation ceremony at Empire Farm Days gives these young people the opportunity to highlight their experiences and demonstrate to family, friends, agribusiness professionals and show visitors the dynamic aspect of dairy education and the multitude of dairy career opportunities."

The program includes a seven-day trip to Madison, Wis., to tour dairies and agribusinesses and to attend the National 4-H Dairy Conference.

From September 2012 into August 2013, the Junior DAIRY LEADERS participated in eight workshops on team building, personality styles, résumé and leadership skills development, as well as specific facets of the dairy industry in veterinary science, dairy nutrition, production management, and on-farm production analysis.

NY Junior DAIRY LEADER sponsors include the Cornell PRO-DAIRY Program, the Northeast Agricultural Education Foundation, New York Farm Viability Institute, New York Center for Dairy Excellence, DEHM Associates, Select Sire Power, SHUR-GAIN USA, Genex/CRI, Northeast Farm Credit AgEnhancement Program, Cargill Animal Nutrition, Table Rock Farm, Inc., and the Cornell University Department of Animal Science.

The 2013 Junior DAIRY LEADERS class includes:
Cayuga County: Amy Stranger
Cattaraugus County: Brandon Gross
Delaware County: Kasey Hulbert, Jonathan VanValkenburgh
Erie County: Avery Richmond
Genesee County: Connor Nesbitt, Brittany Mowry
Herkimer County: Hannah Douglas, Andrew Chlus
Jefferson County: Erik Shelmidine, Casey Porter
Oneida County: Emily Dibble, Taylor Short, Nicholas Finn, Wayne Wratten
Ontario County: Peter Record, Rachel Holtz
Otsego County: Lauren Hill, Alexis Joy, Peter Gartung
Oswego County: Makayla Folwer
Rensselaer County: Courtney Luskin
Schoharie County: Kayla Stanton
St. Lawrence County: Reilly Pierce
Tompkins County: Hannah Baker, Eleni Rigas
Tioga County: Kristy Alexander
Wyoming County: Chelsey Downs, Alton Rudgers

For details on the Junior DAIRY LEADER Program, contact Deborah Grusenmeyer at 607-255-0656 or djc27@cornell.edu.