Four New Members Elected to PA Farm Bureau's State Board


Pennsylvania Farm Bureau (PFB) announced that four farmers have been elected to the organization's state board of directors during PFB's 62nd Annual Meeting in Hershey. The new board members include Matthew Balliet of Luzerne County, Andrew Flinchbaugh of York County, Glenn Stoltzfus of Somerset County and George Wherry of Washington County.

Balliet operates a grain and cattle operation and also runs a custom harvest business. Balliet has served as president of the Luzerne County Farm Bureau, chairman of state and national legislative committees, state Young Farmer and Rancher committee chairman and vice chairman of the American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmer and Rancher program. He was elected to District 4, which represents farmers in Carbon, Columbia, Luzerne and Schuylkill counties. He replaces Keith Masser of Schuylkill County.

Flinchbaugh owns Flinchbaugh's Orchard and Farm Market in partnership with his parents, brother and sister. As part of the diversified farm operation, he oversees 1,600 acres of grain crops. The farm sells directly to the public through its farm market, which also offers agritainment activities. He has served as president and vice president of the York County Farm Bureau, and also as policy development coordinator. He was elected as a board member in District 8, representing farmers from Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon and York counties. Flinchbaugh replaces Jay Kopp of Dauphin County.

Stoltzfus manages a dairy herd of 550 cows in partnership with his three brothers. The family also farms 1,200 acres of owned and rented ground, which produces corn and hay. He also does custom work for nearby farms and markets hay. He was president of the Somerset County Farm Bureau for six years and served on the county's legislative committee. He will represent farmers in Bedford, Blair and Somerset counties as part of District 11. Stoltzfus replaces Nila Cogan of Somerset County.

Wherry operates a 500-head sheep and beef cattle operation in Washington County on 370 acres of pasture. Wherry has served as president of the Washington County Farm Bureau for the past three years. Previously, he served for 23 years as a school board member for the Bentworth School District. He represents District 16, which is made up of farmers from Fayette, Greene, Washington and Westmoreland counties. He replaces Ed Rinkhoff of Fayette County.