Farming Magazine - December, 2009

DEPARTMENTS

Calendar

Maine

December 3-4 IMSI - International Maple Grading School. Skowhegan. Contact Kathy Hopkins at 207-474-9622, fax 207-474-0374 or e-mail khopkins@umext.maine.edu .

December 5 22nd Annual Beef Conference: Cattle Health—Putting the Pieces Together. Ramada Inn, Bangor. Contact Dee Potter at 207-834-3905 or 800-287-1421, or e-mail dpotter@umext.maine.edu .

Massachusetts

January 16, 2010 Northeast Organic Farming Association, Massachusetts Chapter 23rd Annual Winter Conference. Worchester Technical High School, Worchester. For more information, visit www.nofamass.org/conferences/winter/index.php or contact Conference Coordinator Jassy Bratko at 978-928-5646 or jassy.bratko@nofamass.org .

New York

December 2, 9, 16 Ag in Uncertain Times Webinar Series. For more information, e-mail westrme@wsu.edu; call John Nelson at 509-477-2176; or visit www.farmmanagement.org/aginuncertaintimes .

December 5 Fulton-Montgomery County Maple Confection I Workshop. Johnstown. For more information, call 518-762-3909, ext. 109, or e-mail cls263@cornell.edu .

January 8-9, 2010 New York State Maple Conference. Verona. For more information, contact Keith Schiebel at kschiebel@vvsschools.org or visit www.cornellmaple.com .

January 16 Holstein Association Region 1 Meeting. Radisson Hotel, Utica Center, Utica. For more information, visit www.holsteinusa.com/meetings/regionalmeetings.html or contact Jodi Hoynoski at 800-952-5200, ext. 4261, or e-mail jhoynoski@holstein.com .

Pennsylvania

January 5-7, 2010 Keystone Farm Show. York. Contact Ken Maring at 800-218-5586 or 518-673-3237; fax 518-673-3245; e-mail mwhite@leepub.com; or visit www.leetradeshows.com .

January 9-16, 2010 Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex & Expo Center. Harrisburg. Contact Larry R. Weaver at 717-787-5373; fax 717-783-8710; e-mail laweaver@state.pa.us ; or visit www.farmshowcomplex.state.pa.us .

National/International

December 1-3 Agricultural Retailers Association Conference & Expo. Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. Contact Kristi Burmeister & Associates at 636-922-5551; e-mail kburmeister@charter.net ; or visit www.aradc.org .

December 1-6 2009 Irrigation Show. Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, San Antonio, Texas. Visit www.irrigation.org or call 703-536-7080.

December 2-5 National Onion Association Annual Convention. San Antonio, Texas. Visit www.onions-usa.org for details.

December 8 Deadline for Farmer Grants. For more information, visit http://nesare.org .

December 13–16 Annual Meeting of the Entomological Society of America. Indianapolis, Ind. For more information, visit www.entsoc.org/am/cm/ .

December 13-16 Fourth National Conference on Grazing Lands. The Nuggett Hotel and Casino, Reno/Sparks, Nev. For more information, visit www.glci.org .

Visit www.FarmingForumSite.com for complete calendar listing.

Send us your announcement, and we’ll be happy to promote it here. Please allow for 6 to 8 weeks of lead time. Send all events to farmingpr@MooseRiverMedia.com or Farming Magazine Events, Suite #1, 374 Emerson Falls Road, St. Johnsbury, VT 05819.